Mentor of the Arts Award

The annual Tsawwassen Sun Festival Mentor of the Arts Award is dedicated to an individual who has devoted themselves to making an impact in Tsawwassen’s arts community.

Last year, the 2017 recipient of the award was Carroll Lefebvre, president of Sidekick Players Club. The community theatre group has enjoyed 22 years of success putting on plays at the Tsawwassen Arts Centre.

Past winners:

2016: George Ellenton (posthumously) was a longtime dance educator at the Delta Academy of Dance, noted for his own Frank Sinatra tribute shows.

2015: Danielle Hamilton is the Musical Director of both the Delta Community Choir and Tapestry and has been the choral director at South Delta Secondary School since 2000.

2014: Margaret Davies is the creator of the original “Sunny Sam” logo for the Tsawwassen Sun Festival in 1972.

2013: Paige Hansen is a former drama teacher at South Delta Secondary, recognized for her work in musical theatre production.

2012: Alii Wright is an art teacher in Tsawwassen who has been teaching a specialized art program at Boundary Bay Monessori House for over two decades.

2011: Tracy Neff is an actor, singer, and dancer. She received the award for her contributions to theatre.

2010: Beverley Mantovani of Los Gitanos School of Spanish Dance was recognized for her contributions to the art of dance.

2009: Jerry Doucette was the inaugural choice for this annual award, recognized for his Blues music.